Chicago, here we come!

“Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness.” ~Mark Twain

I’m not sure how to express how much I love traveling. It is a cathartic and uplifting to leave the mundane aspects of life behind for a few days and be filled with new experiences. It is doubly exciting to travel with my children and see the world through their eyes.

At this time tomorrow we’ll be settled into our hotel room after a day of travel by car and by train followed by an evening of fun and exploration. The kids and I, along with my mom, are headed to Chicago for four fabulous days and I intend to fall asleep tomorrow with visions of the rides, games and food of Navy Pier dancing in my head. I’ll be sure to make the time to share it with here but it may be abbreviated until we return. Tonight will be abbreviated as well since the day was full of packing and preparation and now I need to be sleeping since my alarm will be going off in four hours.

I knew I’d be vacationing this month when I decided to take on this challenge but wanted to do it anyway because if I could have any job in the world it would be travel writer. I’m looking forward to the chance to flex these particular writing muscles. Stay tuned…

Leave a Reply

