Progress

I had a long day, full of frustration and irritation. (Well, to be honest most of the frustration and irritation came later in the day but it’s easy to forget the nice morning when the whole thing goes to shit.) There was a time, not so long ago, when that would have meant numbing myself with food- sugary, starchy, junky food. And I wish I could say that I didn’t even think to use food (sometimes I don’t). However, I did, at one point, find myself in the kitchen rummaging through the pantry. The important thing though, is that I stopped and realized I wasn’t really hungry, just uncomfortable with my feelings.

So, I read some funny articles on one of my favorite websites, did some yoga and then settled in to watch George Carlin on Netflix (because George can always make me laugh, no matter how crappy the day has been). After I was calm I thought about what was bothering me and allowed myself to sit and feel those uncomfortable feelings instead of trying to avoid or bury them. And then, I let it go. I feel better, no self abuse with food (or neurotic phone calls to friends) necessary. That’s real progress folks!

One response to “Progress

Leave a Reply

