Too busy for writing?

I’ve been neglecting this blog lately. I have a new job (which I LOVE) homeschool co-op has started again and I’m teaching a class, I decided to take on fall cleaning in an attempt to get my house more organized and I’ve been helping my husband with a major project as well. In short, life happens.

I haven’t completely abandoned writing, but it has consisted as mostly informal writing in the form of discussion with friends online. I have actually saved some of my favorite parts of these discussions and thought about trying to turn some of these email and Facebook discussions into blog posts or articles to submit but I just haven’t gotten around to it. There was a time when I would have been hard on myself about that but I’m letting it go.

I am reminded of an anecdote Sandra Dodd once shared about a man who wrote to her about a lost dream of being a writer. She knew him from an unschooling forum to which they both belonged where he often shared witty, insightful, though provoking posts. She responded to him that he IS a writer, it just looks a bit different than he imagined. That’s where I am in my life now. I am content to be a writer when it is convenient, when it makes sense, when it’s imperative to my life without trying to force it into something else.

I accept that this means I’ll never have large readership on this blog, my published pieces may be few and far between and I will not make a living as a writer. I’m okay with that because it also means that writing remains what I need it to be. I choose write to sort through my thoughts, to share information and because I enjoy it; there’s no need to clutter that up with lots of ‘shoulds’.

 

Leave a Reply

