The Big Sexy Problem with Superheroines and Their ‘Liberated Sexuality’ – ComicsAlliance | Comic book culture, news, humor, commentary, and reviews

This is not about these women wanting things; it’s about men wanting to see them do things, and that takes something that really should be empowering — the idea that women can own their sexuality — and transforms it into yet another male fantasy. It takes away the actual power of the women and turns their “sexual liberation” into just another way for dudes to get off.

via The Big Sexy Problem with Superheroines and Their ‘Liberated Sexuality’ – ComicsAlliance | Comic book culture, news, humor, commentary, and reviews.

At times I have internal struggles with how women’s sexuality is presented in the media. I strongly believe that women have been sexually repressed and continue to be so in many ways. Notions of ‘modest’ dress annoy me to say the least and I’m trying to instill in my daughter that she should wear clothes that make her comfortable, not what other people are comfortable with her wearing.

However, there are times when I still feel uncomfortable with highly sexualized images of women and I’ve never been able to put my finger on why. I’ve wondered if it is some latent sexism on my part that results from growing up in a society that shames women for showing their bodies and enjoying sex. While it is possible that this is partly true I think there’s more to it than that. The images that make me uncomfortable are the ones that use women as a prop or selling point under the guise of liberation.

To be honest the differences are subtle and still difficult for me to pinpoint. It’s usually just a feeling and can be difficult for me to put into words or defend. The blogger in the above link hits the nail on the head though.

One response to “The Big Sexy Problem with Superheroines and Their ‘Liberated Sexuality’ – ComicsAlliance | Comic book culture, news, humor, commentary, and reviews

  1. Ah yes! I struggle with this ALL THE TIME. When my daughter was very young, it seemed a lot easier…sexiness was bad, period. Then, I started re-thinking that (with prompts from my very wise friends) and realizing how much of my own sexuality/sexual ideas were wrapped up in this bizarre circle of repression/pretend liberation/guilt. Even as an adult, I sometimes have difficulty expressing my *own* sexuality and/or allowing myself to dress a certain way (because it’s “sexy” and not appropriate for a mother of four).
    Anyway, thanks for the thoughts and maybe one day we’ll have it all figured out!

Leave a Reply

