I wish…

I wish we lived in a world where the playing field was always level.

I wish we lived in a world where everyone who works hard and makes good choices could be successful.

I wish we lived in a world where one misstep (because let’s face it, we’ve all made at least a few mistakes along the way) didn’t have the potential to derail a person for years, if not forever.

I wish we lived in a world where equal work and equal levels of demand for a service meant equal reward.

I wish we lived in a world where the people in charge always treated their subordinates fairly, even if it cost them a bit more, just because it was the right thing to do.

I wish we lived in a world where privilege didn’t exist, or a the very least those who have it could at least recognize that they may not understand the struggles others have faced.

But we don’t live in that kind of world. Until we do I’ll continue standing with those who are striving to level the playing field, help those up who have stumbled, make sure workers are treated fairly and above all recognize that poverty is bad- poor people are not.

Leave a Reply

