Bucket List

Sometimes in the blogosphere things become mimetic and it seems every blogger out there is posting about a particular topic. These are usually fun (Wordless Wednesday, for example, is one I particulary enjoy when bloggers put up pictures of their day to day life with no captions or explanation) and sometimes, on a former blog, I’d play along. Right now a lot of bloggers have jumped on the ‘bucket list’ bandwagon and are posting all of the things they’d like to see, do, learn, etc. before they die.

I used to have a bucket list (though it was pre-movie starring Jack Nicholson and Morgan Freeman so I didn’t call it that). I still have the list so, out of curiosity, I pulled it out to look at it. I saw a few that I’d ticked off (go to Europe, check; sponsor a needy child, check; publish an article, check!) and a few I hadn’t (I still only speak one language, haven’t written a book, and haven’t been snorkeling). There are a few that I haven’t done and no longer wish to (I don’t care about skiing, driving a stick, or losing weight as a goal anymore). Looking at this old, forgotten list didn’t inspire me to write a new one; in fact it convinced met that the whole concept is simply not for me.

All of the things on my “someday” list are there for a reason; I choose something else right now. Most people who know me, even a little bit, know that I have a bad case of wanderlust. It is a big, wide world out there and I’d love to see it all- but I’d rather unschool with my kids, be near my family, have this contented life with my husband, have free time to write and take pictures, form strong relationships, and feel connected with a larger community of like minded people. In short I am living my bucket list.

Don’t get me wrong, I have wishes, hopes and dreams (most of which include travel at this point) in the form of fluid goals (because my other list proves that these things change) but I don’t have a bucket list. Something about the way the term is tossed around seems to implies that my life isn’t complete and wasn’t lived well if the list is unfinished.I choose instead to live well and completely on a daily basis and let the dreams be the sprinkles on my sundae. A few are good, more is even better but even if I get none it’s still a sweet life.

4 responses to “Bucket List

  1. Well put! Not much of a bucket list…although I do have those dreams I hope to someday get to do, but for right I’m perfectly content living my day-to-day life.

  2. “Something about the way the term is tossed around seems to implies that my life isn’t complete and wasn’t lived well if the list is unfinished.I choose instead to live well and completely on a daily basis and let the dreams be the sprinkles on my sundae. A few are good, more is even better but even if I get none it’s still a sweet life.”

    I love this! You put it SO very well! I could not agree more! 🙂

  3. Pingback: What it means to live your bucket list… « Hopeful Insights

Leave a Reply

