We are their first and longest lasting lesson about friendship and love…

Lately I’ve been enjoying Pinterest, a website you really need to experience to understand but in a nutshell it’s full of links and pictures of everything from recipes to fashion. Among the pictures and links of home decor and hobbies there are also a lot of inspirational quotes and posters. Some of these I enjoy, some I don’t. I usually ignore the ones I don’t like but sometimes they just keep popping up like an annoying gnat. One that has been on every page, sometimes two or three times, lately is this:

It makes me CRAZY. I’ve ignored it a lot but today I couldn’t stand it anymore. I created a category of pins that I titled, “Annoying, ubiquitous pins I’m going to rant about…” This was the comment I put with the picture:

I am your parent AND your friend. I will talk to you, respect you, take an interest in your interests, create an environment of MUTUAL respect. I know that I am your first and longest lasting lesson about what friendship and love are. I want you to know that stalking, flipping out, hunting down, and being your worst nightmare are not love and have no place in a HEALTHY relationship.

I’m sure a lot of people will read what I wrote and roll their eyes, thinking that I’m one of THOSE parents. And that’s okay. Hopefully one or two people will read it and stop to think about what I had to say. Really, reread that and replace the word parent with boyfriend or girlfriend and ask yourself if this is what you want your kids to think real love is?

One response to “We are their first and longest lasting lesson about friendship and love…

Leave a Reply

