I’m okay, really!

Yesterday I wrote about feeling out of balance. I feel like I need to clarify that I wasn’t trying to imply that I am depressed; I was trying to talk about the importance of speaking up BEFORE I get to that point. I have been down that road before and I think that it became a serious problem largely because I felt like I shouldn’t speak up about how I was feeling. If I was going through a period of feeling disconnected, having low energy, being sick of the everyday mundane tasks or not taking good care of myself I felt as if I was supposed to just suck it up and deal with it. Strong women don’t complain, they just suffer in silence. That attitude got me nowhere and now I choose to acknowledge these feelings when I first start to notice them so they don’t become a serious issue.

I’ve gotten some emails and messages of concern along with lots of really helpful suggestions about things I can do to feel better. I am so appreciative and thankful to know that people are not only reading but that they are genuinely concerned. That is a great feeling ! But I also want to reassure those of you who may be concerned that I’m fine. Writing about how I was feeling was exactly what I needed. I felt stronger and more able to deal with things almost immediately. I’ve been more able to eat well, felt more like exercising than I have in a while and then went to bed earlier last night. I’d been telling myself to do those things for weeks but wasn’t actually able to follow through.  Because I was able to acknowledge this early instead of waiting for it to spiral into something bigger that acknowledgement made all of the difference.

So, again, thank you all for your concern but I really am okay. 🙂

5 responses to “I’m okay, really!

    • That was great! As soon as I posted this I wished I’d spent more time focusing on this idea because that was really the heart of what I was trying to say. I guess I was just so taken aback by the misunderstanding from yesterday’s post that I didn’t think it through completely before clicking ‘publish’. I strongly believe that the reason depression is more prevalent among women is because A) we don’t speak up soon enough because we’re trying to be strong and B) if we do complain than that must mean that something is horribly wrong with us and we must need to take a pill to fix it so we can get back to taking care of everyone else.

      After crawling back from a really crippling depression I now always choose to speak up sooner rather than later and to do it without shame so that other women know that at least one other person thinks it’s okay for them to do the same.

  1. Pingback: Speaking of depression… « Hopeful Insights

Leave a Reply

