An obstacle before I begin…

I woke up this morning with a horrific migraine. It was entirely my fault because of all the carbs I’ve eaten in the last couple of weeks. I’ve ignored the milder symptoms and been figuring that I’d just get back to eating well January 1 and be fine until then. My body had other ideas.

I was really chastising myself as I was laying motionless this morning with a pillow flung over my face (my migraines are generally motion and light sensitive). I could have easily prevented this and I CHOSE not to. What was I thinking? I was kinder than I used to be but still pretty hard on myself for bringing on this pain.

Then this evening I was making my menu and grocery list for the upcoming week. I was trying to make sure I have plenty of low carb foods as I begin my challenge so I won’t be tempted to cheat. And suddenly a realization hit me.

It wasn’t just the holiday foods that were causing me to slip. It was the holiday budget. I have been trying to cut back on the grocery budget for a variety of reasons. Having healthy food around isn’t always cheap. I know it’s cheaper in the long run to be healthy. But sometimes when you are a one income family the long run is just too long.

I can see now that this is one potential obstacle in my first challenge for which I didn’t plan. I’m going to have to do some planning and number crunching but I WILL figure it out.

One response to “An obstacle before I begin…

  1. Oh no! Migraines are the WORST! It can be difficult, I think, to stay away from the things we love..even when we know they’re making us feel ill. I struggle with this often, so I totally get where you’re coming from.
    Budgeting is such a terrific tool, but sometimes it seems like it’s not enough! There’s only so much money to go around. I would love to glean some more of your insight on this. I’ve been doing a pretty decent job of sticking to mine, but I would like to have more food around (without spending more). Of course, I would spend all my money on food if I could. 😉

Leave a Reply

