Perspective

From Hoot Suite Photos

 

I had a little chuckle at the funny little cross-eyed rhino the first time I saw this.

And then I wondered, “What’s blocking my perspective?”

Which led to, “Maybe it’s not a block, it’s just the way it is for me.”

I could no more erase my experiences to change my perspective than that rhino could remove his horn to change his. What I can do, what we ALL can do, is look at the perspective of others and try to imagine what it would be like to see the world through their eyes. We can also create images of our own perspective to share with others- whether it’s a painting like our friend the rhino, a blog or something else. The how isn’t important; the important thing is to share our own perspective while also taking the time to truly allow others to share theirs with us.

8 responses to “Perspective

  1. Hello Again, I decided to post this on my FB page along with this quote from you, “I could no more erase my experiences to change my perspective than that rhino could remove his horn to change his. What I can do, what we ALL can do, is look at the perspective of others and try to imagine what it would be like to see the world through their eyes.”
    I’ll let you know the reaction. 🙂

  2. Love this! So true. I also meant to comment on your thoughts about balancing the desire/need to self-improve with self-acceptance. Really good points. I notice people using, “this is just me!” as a way to stagnate and continue bad habits. BUT, there is also a point when you’re just “arguing with reality” by trying to change/”fix” something that is *just the way you are*.

    • Thanks!

      I think that self-improvement/self-acceptance balance can be tricky. I think the tipping point (for me at least) is the false belief that self-improvement will lead to happiness. (If I do X then I’ll finally be happy!) The reality is that self-acceptance will lead to happiness and then HONEST self-improvement can occur. The kind that isn’t based on shoulds or other people’s ideals but is instead based on a move toward a healthier (physically and/or mentally) self.

  3. So true and so well said! We enlarge our own perspective by exposing it to the perspectives of others. Maybe if it gets wide enough our own horn won’t eclipse the entire horizon.

Leave a Reply

