New Month, New Challenge!

Okay folks, time for my new 30 day challenge- keeping a food journal! I have a few reasons for doing this:

  • Mindful eating has been an issue for me for quite some time. In the past I’ve used food as my drug of choice to “zone out” from life. At times I still find myself having to fight hard against this old coping mechanism and there have been a few occasions lately when I’ve given in. It usually comes without even realizing that it’s happening until it’s over- when I realize that I don’t remember what I’ve eaten today or what the food I just ate tasted like. I no longer beat myself up for these behaviors- I know this is my subconscious way of trying to care for myself.  However, just because I don’t berate myself for a behavior or can understand it’s purpose that doesn’t mean that I have to ignore or accept it. I WANT to be more mindful and a food journal helps with that.
  • Some days it feels like I am insatiably hungry! I’m not talking about emotional hunger as in the first bullet point; I’m referring to actual physical hunger that seems to never be satisfied. I think this MUST have something to do with the food choices I’m making and I’d like to see if I can find a pattern connected to my food choices on the days when I feel satiated and the days that I don’t.
  • Finally, I’ll be looking for patterns relating food choices to how I feel physically overall. This includes energy levels, migraines, joint pain, etc.

In the past I’ve simply used a small notebook as a food journal and it worked well for the goal of mindful eating. However, it’s not a great tool for organizing thoughts that are easily referred back to for the other two goals. So, I found this printable and I’m going to use it. I really like it because it has space for notes, mood and many other things which food choices can impact.

4 responses to “New Month, New Challenge!

  1. That’s a really good idea. Sometimes I wonder if my mood is related to what I’m eating. Heck, I know it is at times. I’ve actually found that keeping a food journal doesn’t work for me. I seem to focus too much on food when I keep one. I’ve found that if I just have a general idea of what I’m going to eat the next day I do pretty good. Of course i still have those days where I want to eat everything in sight!

    • I know what you mean by focusing too much on food. I was putting so much thought in it that I started to wonder if it was a good idea. I decided that it was worth it to keep going but we’ll see…

Leave a Reply

