What Matters

Last week I willingly and happily attended a Taylor Swift concert. I forked over a substantial amount of money for tickets, parking and fast food, made the two hour (one way) trek into the city, danced along to mediocre pop lyrics and had a FABULOUS time. Here’s why:

Yep, I even wore silly headgear (I may have even waved around a gigantic light up sign but there are no pics to prove that).

Yep, I even wore silly headgear (I may have even waved around a gigantic light up sign but there are no pics to prove that).

It doesn’t matter that I don’t love Taylor Swift. She does. It doesn’t matter that I don’t love concerts. She does. It doesn’t matter that I felt silly bopping around to tween pop. She didn’t. And when the music slowed down and Ms. Swift settled into a slow ballad my girl reached over and held my hand. It was magical and worth every penny.

I know I’m lucky to have this opportunity; not everyone can afford to spend what we did on a single night or find the time or transportation necessary to make this happen. We can’t always and this was certainly a special occasion that required sacrifice for both K and myself. I think the sacrifice is part of what made it special. We’d have had fun no matter what- it was a great show. But what lasts far beyond the night of the concert is my daughter’s understanding that I believe she is worth the extra effort and sacrifice. That spending time with her, doing things she loves is how I want to spend some of my free time.

She knows this artist isn’t my favorite. She knows I enjoy things that have nothing to do her. She knows I’m my own person. But she also knows that when I do these things with her it’s not a burden or monumental sacrifice on my part. I don’t do it because I should or because I feel obligated. I do it  because I am having fun with her. And, at least for right now, she is having fun with me.

 

 

2 responses to “What Matters

  1. Perfectly articulated! I actually fall in love with things BECAUSE savannah loves them. Her joy and love of something, seeing her face light up, seeing her happy and excited…MAKES me love it, even if I might not have in the beginning! It was such a special night, I’m glad we did it together! ❤

Leave a Reply

