Trying Something New

I’ve said before that I am just not a niche blogger. I’ve tried; it just doesn’t work for me. My interests are too varied and I don’t want to limit myself. I realize that this costs me some readership- niche blogs simply have more traffic because someone who’s interested in unschooling doesn’t want to sift through posts about low-carb menus and diabetes. I get it.

But still, I want a space where I can ramble on about whatever topic I feel the need to. Because, while I do write to share information, I mostly write to help myself figure things out. It’s cathartic and necessary in my ongoing journey through life. So, I’ve given a lot of thought lately to how I can meet my own needs as a writer without alienating readers.

Keeping up with more than one blog is just not going to happen at this point and seems silly with my small following. Trying to tie various topics back into one interest just doesn’t feel authentic (I mean, I guess I could somehow relate health topics back to unschooling but that doesn’t mean Iย should or even that I want to.) After tossing around some ideas I finally decided that I want to try dedicating specific days to specific topics. I’ve been wanting to increase my updates and also find myself conflicted at times as to what topic to write about so hopefully this will help. For those interested only in specific topics the new schedule I’m trying out is:

Sunday Size-Up: These posts will be dedicated to my quest for Health At Every Size (HAES). I’ll explore my own challenges and triumphs, share tidbits I find interesting that relate to the topic, discuss matters relating to diabetes and low-carb living, and anything else I discover along the way that fits into this topic.

Un-Wednesday: This will be my day to discuss radical unschooling and the various issues that flow from that choice. Because radical unschooling isn’t just a way of schooling but a way of relating as a family the topics here will be about both education and family life.

Free For All Friday: And because I need a place to talk about whatever topics I find interesting or relevant in any given moment I’ll have a day to discuss anything I want. Books, movies, politics, personal matters… whatever.

For my faithful followers, thanks for sticking with me as I continue to refine and find my voice. ๐Ÿ™‚

2 responses to “Trying Something New

  1. Fantastic idea! Even though my blog is a niche type blog (I had no idea there was such thing until you labeled it, but I guess that’s what it is! LOL) I really enjoy my wide-angle Wednesday where I can share photography and I suspect as I go along I will come up with a couple other special days as well. It’s a great idea.

    • Thank you! It was actually seeing how quickly your blog grew that helped me realize I needed to a) update more and b) find a more specific voice/audience without limiting myself. Once again, you inspire me! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

