Day 1: 30 Posts in 30 Days!

It has been a while since I’ve done a 30 day challenge but now seems like the perfect time to take one on. Earlier this year I took on more hours at work and have been trying to find a new place of balance only to have that come crashing down around me. Our program lost funding and Thursday was my last day. We also had a house guest for nearly a month and all of the extra family coming to visit him that entails. But he left last week. So, all of the things that have kept me too busy to write are suddenly gone. I thought I’d relish the time but I was so wrong!

Yesterday was my first official day out of work and it was a lot tougher than I anticipated. I decided to spend it at home just relaxing. I postponed my regular Friday chores and the only plans I made were for meeting up with a friend to return her daughter from sleeping over at my house. By noon the friends were on their way and I was growing antsy. By about 3 I was completely bored and actually a bit teary eyed at the prospect of all this free time. I briefly considered just going somewhere but with no job that isn’t really an option on a daily basis. Even if I find free things to do we live so far out (about 30 miles from most activities) that it would completely break our gas budget. I know that those with toddlers are probably wishing they had the  “problem” of too much free time to deal with but there it is. I hate to be bored more than anything and boredom has a tendency to transition into mild depression if I’m not careful.

So, I’d planned to give myself a little down time before starting this challenge but it turns out I need the challenge more than I need the time! And without further ado, the rules:

  • I will write and post 30 original blog entries in the next 30 days. No reusing old stuff I’ve already written. New material only!
  • It’s fine to miss a day if it’s a particularly busy/hectic day as long as I post an extra entry another day so at the end of 30 days I have 30 entries.
  • It is NOT fine to miss simply because I have writer’s block. I need to learn to push through that.
  • And while we’re on the topic, no writing about not having anything to write.

In addition to the rules, I also have a goal (beyond boredom busting) in mind:

  • Figure out how I’m going to differentiate the various topics I want to write about in a way that is helpful to readers as well as conducive to my personal writing style. I like the idea of “Sunday Size-Up” and “Un-Wednesday” but sometimes I wake up on Sunday morning and have other things floating around in my head. It’s hard to force myself to write something of value about HAES when what I really want is to discuss how I’m feeling about job/money issues. So, I’m hoping a better system will emerge.

That’s it, the challenge in a nutshell. Wish me luck! 🙂

4 responses to “Day 1: 30 Posts in 30 Days!

Leave a Reply

