Day 4: An Observer of My Own Thoughts

I have, as I think most people do, a lot of intrusive thoughts. I’ll see someone doing something I don’t understand and a snarky, judgmental thought will pop into my mind. I’ll feel suddenly and irrationally angry when reading comments on the internet. I’ll degrade myself for perceived shortcomings. I chastise myself for not completing things I “should” have. I question my own intentions. I internally dismiss people based on the most superficial things.

I don’t want to do any of these things and I actively work to change these habits. I’ve spent years in self-analysis trying to get to the root of these thoughts thinking that if I could just understand them then I could “fix” them. And it has helped. But I’m tired. I don’t really have the energy to continue psychoanalyzing my every thought. I think it’s become a crutch in and of itself, one more intrusive thought to add to the above list. So now I’m trying something different.

Instead of contemplating, analyzing and picking apart every thought I have I am instead simply observing them. When I catch myself delving into unwanted territory I simply think, “Hmmm, I’m still having an issue with that. Interesting.” And I move on. No trying to figure out why I have the issue. No yelling at myself for it. Simply noticing it and letting that be enough.

I know it doesn’t sound like much but it has had an extraordinary impact. I feel less judgmental toward others and myself. And I think the world could stand a little less judgement; even if it’s only in my own mind.

One response to “Day 4: An Observer of My Own Thoughts

  1. Pingback: Day 17/Post 16: It’s not all about me? | Hopeful Insights

Leave a Reply

