Day 12/Post 11: A Simple Life

botts 1

This quote has become my mantra lately. I need this reminder when I feel like I might be missing something by living in a small town. I need it when wanderlust kicks in and I just want to GO. DO. SEE. EXPLORE. EXPERIENCE. I need it when I see pictures of patios with outdoor kitchens and water features. I need it when we pass on an activity that sounds fun but is too expensive right now. I need it in moments when I’ve forgotten that all of those things come at a cost that has nothing to do with money.

We CHOOSE this life. We choose to be close to family even if means we’re far from some cultural experiences. We choose to travel less so we can live more during the 51 weeks of the year we’re not on vacation. We choose to live without some extravagances so we can spend less time at work and more at home.

This doesn’t mean we aren’t sometimes wistful for the things we must sacrifice in order to make these choices work. But it does mean that we are acutely aware that ALL choices include sacrifice and some we are not willing to make. So, for now at least, we choose the simple life.

But ours doesn’t have second breakfast. šŸ˜‰

8 responses to “Day 12/Post 11: A Simple Life

  1. I have secondy-breakfasts every day! šŸ˜‰ Well, you had to know I would love this with the LOTR references. Did you know that I tear up every.single.time. I watch the opening of Fellowship of the ring and they are showing The Shire. Sometimes we can get so caught up in life we forget to stop, slow down, and look around and the beauty we are surrounded by…and we don’t even have to leave home!

    • Yes, I knew you’d love this post. Can you tell we’ve been watching your DVDs? And I love that scene too. Love, love, LOVE it. ā¤

  2. I chose the opposite. I am glad for it and also I know there will come a time when I want the simple things back home again. But I’m not sure I’d know that if I hadn’t left! Lovely post. Simple and people are always best šŸ™‚

    • Thank you, and thanks for reading. Whatever path I always hope it’s one taken by choice and with appreciation. It sounds like that is true for you which makes my heart smile. Thanks for sharing that. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

