Practical

I consider myself a pragmatist. I don’t really care if a glass is half full or half empty because quibbling over the semantics doesn’t change how much water we have to work with.

Water if we're lucky, I suppose.

Water if we’re lucky, I suppose.

I see no point with hand wringing and worrying about things which we can’t control or change. We move forward from where we are with what we have. This is pretty much how I approach everything in my life from health concerns to financial issues. So, after my first Katy Trail walk I realized that I needed to adjust my plans.

There is simply no way I’m going to finish this before my 40th birthday. It would entail a level of training I simply can’t sustain. I would be walking a section of the trail the length of a half marathon or more on a nearly monthly basis. This would require hours of walking multiple times per week to keep myself conditioned for the task. I didn’t really anticipate that when I began and I simply don’t have the time or the energy for it. This doesn’t mean I’m giving up, it simply means I’ve let go of the arbitrary deadline of my 40th birthday. Instead of combining sections of the trail I’ll do one at a time with more manageable distances and increase those distances more gradually. I’m pretty happy with this new plan because this challenge is supposed to test my limits but not break my spirit in the process. And the prospect of another walk like the last one simply wasn’t something I was looking forward to repeating on a monthly basis for a year and a half. So, I adjust and I make no apologies for that to myself or anyone else. I look at what I need along with the new information that presented itself and I shift accordingly.

Don’t get me wrong. I was disappointed and I had to talk it out with my BFF to wrap my brain around giving up on the image of a big celebration after my last walk to mark both my completion of the challenge and my 4oth birthday. I was frustrated but then I just stepped back and made a new plan because it was the only practical thing to do.

Leave a Reply

